"Somewhere in the vaults of the bank of Cox and Co., at Charing Cross, there is a travel-worn and battered tin dispatch-box with my name, John H. Watson, M.D., painted upon the lid. It is crammed with papers, nearly all of which are records of cases to illustrate the curious problems which Mr. Sherlock Holmes has at various times to examine."

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

All-Consuming Fire (1994)

Sherlock Holmes meets the Doctor! Doctor who, you ask? Precisely. Author Andrew Lane would later go on to pen the Young Sherlock Holmes series.

"I've been all over the universe with you, Doctor, and Earth in the nineteenth century is the most alien place I've ever seen."

England, 1887. The secret library of St John the Beheaded has been robbed. The thief has taken forbidden books which tell of mythical beasts and gateways to other worlds. Only one team can be trusted to solve the crime: Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson.

As their investigation leads them to the dark underside of Victorian London, Holmes and Watson soon realise that someone else is following the same trail. Someone who has the power to kill with a glance. And they sense a strange, inhuman shape observing them from the shadows. Then they meet the mysterious traveller known only as the Doctor—the last person alive to read the stolen books.

While Bernice waits in nineteenth-century India, Ace is trapped on a bizarre alien world. And the Doctor finds himself unwillingly united with England’s greatest consulting detective.

Title: All-Consuming Fire
Author: Andy Lane
Year: 1994
Publisher: Doctor Who Books/Virgin
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK)

Thursday, December 21, 2017

Sherlock Holmes: Adventures for the Twelve Days of Christmas (2015)

A collection of six Holmes stories set during the Christmas season. Riccard also produced a second volume of six more stories, Further Adventures for the Twelve Days of Christmas.

This third book by Roger Riccard brings forth a series of six short stories occurring during the Christmas seasons of Sherlock Holmes' career, with each title taking its name from the carol, The Twelve Days of Christmas. 
The Seventh Swann
The Eighth Milkmaid
The Ninth Ladyship at the Dance
The Tenth Lord Leaping
The Eleven Pipe Problem
The Twelfth Drumming

Title: Sherlock Holmes: Adventures for the Twelve Days of Christmas
Author: Roger Riccard
Year: 2015
Publisher: Irregular Special Press
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Sherlock Holmes and the Copycat Murders (2000)

Barry Day's third Sherlock Holmes pastiche has a movie-worthy premise.

London 1900 and Sherlock Holmes finds himself investigating a string of murders that have one common thread–each of them recalls one of his earlier cases. Has the great mind finally cracked–Watson wonders–and how is all this connected to Britain's latest secret weapon and the doings of the enigmatic Graf von Bork and the mysterious Society for Anglo-German Solidarity?

Title: Sherlock Holmes and the Copycat Murders
Author: Barry Day
Year: 2000
Publisher: Oberon Books
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The Criminal Mastermind of Baker Street (2017)

What if Sherlock Holmes was actually a master criminal? A clever reimagining of the Canon from a different point of view. Read a review at Sherlock Peoria.

What if Sherlock Holmes had turned to crime instead of detection? THE CRIMINAL MASTERMIND OF BAKER STREET by Rob Nunn investigates this very concept. Holmes famously said that "when a clever man turns his brains to crime it is the worst of all." A sinister influence is at work in Victorian London with Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson running a hidden criminal empire. THE CRIMINAL MASTERMIND OF BAKER STREET explores all of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's original stories through the lens of Holmes as a criminal while adding many new exciting tales of Holmes' daring to delight its readers.

Title: The Criminal Mastermind of Baker Street
Author: Rob Nunn
Year: 2017
Publisher: MX Publishing
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Mycroft Holmes and the Adventure of the Desert Wind (2017)

The first in what promises to be a series of adventures by Janina Woods featuring Sherlock's brother Mycroft.

Dr. Watson receives a cursed note, summoning him to the city of Milan. In his plight, he turns to the one person who can help him: Mycroft Holmes, secret agent and eternally concerned elder brother. Mycroft has to team up with Dr. Watson and fellow agent Victoria Trevor to follow Sherlock’s trail and stand against the dark forces that threaten his life.

Title: Mycroft Holmes and the Adventure of the Desert Wind
Author: Janina Woods
Year: 2017
Publisher: MX Publishing
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Legal Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.