"Somewhere in the vaults of the bank of Cox and Co., at Charing Cross, there is a travel-worn and battered tin dispatch-box with my name, John H. Watson, M.D., painted upon the lid. It is crammed with papers, nearly all of which are records of cases to illustrate the curious problems which Mr. Sherlock Holmes has at various times to examine."

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Sherlock Holmes in Montague Street (2014)

A unique approach to creating Holmes pastiche by David Marcum. Published in three volumes. A collected edition was released in 2016.

In 1893, Dr. Watson and Conan Doyle published what they believed was the last Sherlock Holmes story, 'The Final Problem'. The world was stunned, and The Strand Magazine rushed to fill the vacuum. Readers were soon introduced to a new detective, Martin Hewitt, as presented by Arthur Morrison. Although initially different than Holmes, Hewitt also showed a number of interesting similarities as well . . . . 
For many years, Martin Hewitt has been mostly forgotten, except in some Sherlockian circles, where it has long been theorized that he was a young Mycroft Holmes. However, recent evidence has come to light that Hewitt's adventures were in fact cases undertaken by a young Sherlock Holmes when he lived in Montague Street, several years before he would take up his legendary rooms in Baker Street with Watson. 
These volumes are the Complete Martin Hewitt Stories, taking Arthur Morrison's original publications and presenting them as Sherlock Holmes adventures. If you are a fan of Holmes, enjoy! And by all means, seek out the original Hewitt stories and enjoy them as well. The Game is afoot!

Title: Sherlock Holmes in Montague Street
Author: Arthur Morrison, edited by David Marcum
Year: 2014
Publisher: MX Publishing
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Saturday, November 25, 2017

The Revenge of the Hound (1987)

This sequel to The Hound of the Baskervilles was released in 1987 to celebrate the Centenary of Sherlock Holmes. The hardcover (pictured here) contains illustrations by Steranko.

The Revenge of the Hound is set in June 1902, only months after the publication of the most popular mystery of al time, The Hound of the Baskervilles. The coronation of Edward VII has been postponed for what at first seem to be mysterious reasons. Spy scares are rife across England. The working class is filled with unrest. The unthinkable, a British revolution, now seems possible. 
Amid it all, Dr. John H. Watson, esteemed chronicler of the adventures of the world's most famous consulting detective, is in love. He has become engaged to an American woman many years his junior, a decision which may affect his long-standing relationship with Sherlock Holmes. Holmes himself is on the verge of a major decision. Although he is not quite fifty years old, he sees the coming age as a time to retire. With the end of the Victorian era and the advent of forensic methods, his unique talent for deduction is being challenged by science and the growing conformity of the modern world. 
Yes before the decision can be made,three seemingly unrelated events occur. From Inspector Lestrade of Scotland Yard comes news of a baffling case, the sighting on Hampstead Heath of a creature frighteningly similar to that of the infamous Hound of the Baskervilles; from Holmes's brother, Mycroft, comes a mysterious summons; and from the deck of am English Channel ferry, Holmes and Watson witness firsthand the apparently motiveless murder of a ship's steward. 
Suddenly, the midnight oil is burning again at 221B Baker Street. Holmes's deductive mind is roused from self-indulgence to excitement. The die is cast. The game's afoot. As the coronation of Edward VII grows closer, Holmes and Waston realize that what might be the last case of their career together may indeed decide the very fate of England!

Title: The Revenge of the Hound
Author: Michael Hardwick
Year: 1987
Publisher: Villard Books
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK)

Monday, November 20, 2017

Encounters of Sherlock Holmes (2013)

A new collection of somewhat eclectic Holmes stories by noted genre authors. Edited by George Mann.

A brand-new collection of Sherlock Holmes stories from a variety of exciting voices in modern horror and steampunk, including James Lovegrove, Justin Richards, Paul Magrs, Guy Adams and Mark Hodder. Edited by respected anthologist George Mann, and including a story by Mann himself. 
The Loss of Chapter Twenty-One by Mark Hodder
Holmes and the Indelicate Widow by Mags L Halliday
The Demon Slasher of Seven Sisters by Cavan Scott
The Post-Modern Prometheus by Nick Kyme
Mrs Hudson at the Christmas Hotel by Paul Magrs
The Case of the Night Crawler by George Mann
The Adventure of the Locked Carriage by Stuart Douglas
The Tragic Affair of the Martian Ambassador by Eric Brown
The Adventure of the Swaddled Railwayman by Richard Dinnick
The Pennyroyal Society by Kelly Hale
The Persian Slipper by Steve Lockley
The Property of a Thief by Mark Wright
Woman’s Work by David Barnett
The Fallen Financier by James Lovegrove

Title: Encounters of Sherlock Holmes
Author: George Mann
Year: 2013
Publisher: Titan Books
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Saturday, November 11, 2017

The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes (2017)

The game is still afoot as the daughter of Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler (who else) carries on the family tradition. The first of a new series by Leonard Goldberg. Book 2, A Study in Treason, will be released in 2018.

1914. Joanna Blalock’s keen mind and incredible insight lead her to become a highly-skilled nurse, one of the few professions that allow her to use her finely-tuned brain. But when she and her ten-year-old son witness a man fall to his death, apparently by suicide, they are visited by the elderly Dr. John Watson and his charming, handsome son, Dr. John Watson Jr. Impressed by her forensic skills, they invite her to become the third member of their investigative team. 
Caught up in a Holmesian mystery that spans from hidden treasure to the Second Afghan War of 1878-1880, Joanna and her companions must devise an ingenious plan to catch a murderer in the act while dodging familiar culprits, Scotland Yard, and members of the British aristocracy. Unbeknownst to her, Joanna harbors a mystery of her own. The product of a one-time assignation between the now dead Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler, the only woman to ever outwit the famous detective, Joanna has unwittingly inherited her parents’ deductive genius.

Title: The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes
Author: Leonard Goldberg
Year: 2017
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Sherlock Holmes and the Alice in Wonderland Murders (1997)

Barry Day's follow-up to Sherlock Holmes and the Shakespeare Globe Murders sends Holmes and Watson through the Looking Glass.

1898. Holmes and Watson encounter American newspaper boss, John Moxton, whose yellow press, The Clarion, is beginning to threaten and undermine political stability in Victorian England. At the same time, public figures are humiliated and then murdered. But each incident has a parallel in Alice in Wonderland, and each time The Clarion is conveniently on hand. So what is Moxton's master plan and can Homes and Waston unravel it in time? And what is the strange bond that links the detective to a man he has never met... or has he?

Title: Sherlock Holmes and the Alice in Wonderland Murders
Author: Barry Day
Year: 1997
Publisher: Oberon Books
Purchase: Amazon (U.S.) | Amazon (UK).

Legal Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.