Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Good Night, Mr. Holmes (1990)

The first book in a popular series by Carole Nelson Douglas featuring the adventures of The Woman, the incomparable Irene Adler.

Miss Irene Adler, the beautiful American opera singer who once outwitted Sherlock Holmes, is also a superb detective, as Oscar Wilde and Bram Stoker can attest. Even Holmes himself must admit--albeit grudgingly--that she acquits herself competently. 
But in matters of the heart she encounters difficulty. The Crown Prince of Bohemia--tall, blonde, and handsome--proves to be a cad. Will dashing barrister Godfrey Norton be able to convince Irene that not all handsome men are cut from the same broadcloth?

Title: Good Night, Mr. Holmes
Author: Carole Nelson Douglas
Year: 1990
Publisher: Tor Books
Purchase: Amazon.comAmazon.co.uk

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Sherlock Takes a Wife and other Modern Tales (1994)

The follow-up to Ira Bernard Dworkin's 1980 collection Sherlock Holmes in Modern Times.

The author, a retired New Jersey Judge, brings Sherlock Holmes into the 20th Century to meet and marry the woman of his dreams. This amorous adventure caps the great detective's 100-year career, and concludes with 8 additional perplexing plots as follows:

The Case of the Reluctant Bachelor
The Case of the Beleaguered Barrister
The Case of the Beautiful Babe
Murder at St. Paul's
A Scandal in Soho
The Case of Unrequited Love
The Writ of Coram Nobis
Sherlock Saves the World

Title: Sherlock Takes a Wife and other Modern Tales
Author: Ira Bernard Dworkin
Year: 1994
Publisher: Bradford Press
Purchase: Amazon.comAmazon.co.uk

Legal Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.