"Somewhere in the vaults of the bank of Cox and Co., at Charing Cross, there is a travel-worn and battered tin dispatch-box with my name, John H. Watson, M.D., painted upon the lid. It is crammed with papers, nearly all of which are records of cases to illustrate the curious problems which Mr. Sherlock Holmes has at various times to examine."

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1985)

The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of early and significant Holmes pastiche. It includes the infamous "The Case of the Man who was Wanted" (here titled "The Adventure of the Sheffield Banker"), which was thought to be an unpublished story by Conan Doyle when it was first uncovered in 1948. The book includes an introduction by Richard Lancelyn Green explaining the history of each story in the collection.

"If the stories in this book can kindle afresh the fire in the rooms in Baker Street, or echo the noise of the handsome cabs, or catch the sound of a foot upon the stair, then they will achieved their end." - Richard Lancelyn Green
Many writers have revisited the Reichenbach Falls in the hope of summoning up the ghost of Sherlock Holmes. Now Richard Lancelyn Green has succeeded triumphantly with this collection of stories by experts of the calibre of Ronald Knox, Julian Symons and Adrian Conan Doyle. Designed not to compete with or parody the original, but rather to reflect and enhance the achievements of the great detective, The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a delightful treat for all fans. 
The Adventure of the First-Class Carriage
by Ronald A. Knox (1947)
The Adventure of the Sheffield Banker 
by Arthur Whitaker (1948)
The Adventure of the Unique Hamlet 
by Vincent Starrett (1920)
The Adventure of the Marked Man 
by Stuart Palmer (1944)
The Adventure of the Megatherium Thefts 
by S.C. Roberts (1945)
The Adventure of the Trained Cormorant 
by W.R. Duncan Macmillan (1953)
The Adventure of the Ainsworth Castle 
by Adrian Conan Doyle (1954)
The Adventure of the Tired Captain 
by Alan Wilson (1958)
The Adventure of the Green Empress 
by F.P. Cillie (1967)
The Adventure of the Purple Hand 
by D.O. Smith (1982)
The Adventure of the Hillman Hall 
by Julian Symons (1981)

Title: The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Author: Richard Lancelyn Green
Year: 1985
Publisher: Penguin
Purchase: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk

No comments:

Legal Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.